Android 2.2 Froyo on my Samsung Galaxy 580 (NZ)

After waiting for months for any word of Froyo coming to the Galaxy 580 (aka Galaxy 3, or GT-I5800) here in New Zealand, including calls/emails to both Vodafone and Samsung here in NZ, I found the following post by admin “johnr” in the Vodafone forums,

Aarrgh! Damn you Vodafone.

Not content with that answer, I decided to take matters into my own hands, void my warranty and flash Froyo onto my phone. In short, I got it up and running on the second try and am stoked to be rocking 2.2. 😀

Pics or it didn’t happen right? Sure, here ya go:

.

Here’s the nitty gritty…

Rooting and Flashing.
First up, the standard disclaimer. If you do this, you will void your warranty and you may lose some functionality on your phone, gain undesirable behaviour, or could even totally brick your phone. If that freaks you out or you can’t afford to replace it if it goes horribly wrong, don’t do it! And don’t be blaming me if it goes pear shaped!

That said, there are plenty of benefits in rooting and/or flashing your phone. Gaining root access will let you get at some deep dark parts of your phone and the OS, permitting you to run powerful apps (e.g. Titanium Backup). AFAIK rooting is reversable, so you can undo it. Flashing a new ROM on the other hand may not be reversable, unless you have a backup of your pre-existing ROM, or can get your hands on one to flash it back.

.

Froyo 2.2.
My Galaxy 580 came with Eclair 2.1 installed. Since this was my first Android experience (I came to it from a Nokia 6234) I was impressed. However, being the geek that I am I started poking around, installing apps at will, and soon found some limitations that I knew were addressed in newer Android versions. The two features I most wanted was a solid way to disable packet data and the ability to move apps to the SD card to both free up internal phone memory and to allow more apps to be installed. Of course a shinier interface and newer features never goes astray either!

When I asked Vodafone directly about an update to Froyo via email they replied with:

2.2 has been released but to confirm it is available for your model phone and how to get you are best to contact Samsung directly

So I emailed Samsung and got the following response:

Unfortunately at this stage no release date has been set. please feel free to check back with us at any stage

Then I found the forum post in the screenshot above which made me angry enough to immediately flash my phone!

.

Resources and Requirements:
All the info, software and background reading you’ll require can be found at xda-developers.com (specifically in the forums) and at SamFirmware.com. I’m not going to duplicate everything here, but you will need USB drivers for your phone, the Odin downloader software and a Firmware to flash.

Here’s the references I used (in the case of the forum posts, I did read most of the threads – not just the top level posts):

xda-developers:

SamFirmware:

.

Notes on my experience:

  • I did root my phone first (using z4root) so I could run Titanium Backup, although root isn’t required to flash a new ROM.
  • Backup backup backup! I don’t keep any text messages and all my contacts live at Google which just get synced to the phone. As such, the only things I needed to backup were my apps/data on the phone (which I actually didn’t care about since they can all be installed again later, incl apps you’ve paid for. I didn’t worry about game saves etc, so I lost all game progress – meh, I was over Angry Birds anyway!). Note that anything on the SD card (photos, files etc) is left untouched.
  • Prior to flashing I did remember to record the VFNZ APN settings for both Internet and PXT. These have to manually set after flashing, and are listed online in the Vodafone forum here.
  • I used a stock Samsung Firmware without a bootloader – everything I read suggested this would be more stable and the lack of bootloader means you won’t brick your phone. Initially I tried I5800XWJPF but it didn’t work – my phone wouldn’t startup and hung on the boot screen, so I then re-flashed with I5800XXJPM which worked fine! I grabbed both firmwares from the xda forum not samfirmware – might as well let someone else remove the bootloaders!
  • I didn’t install Kies first – I had it a while ago, but it’s a POS (just like iTunes!) IMHO so I deleted it soon after installing it! This is recommended so you have the latest USB drivers, but you can get them from samfirmware. The only thing you need Kies for is to get software updates, and well, since Vodafone don’t appear to be doing amy more for the 580 I’m turning my back on them and Kies and doing it myself. Note that I can still transfer files to/from my PC via USB using the phone as a mass storage device, or via ftp over wifi – nice!
  • I did do the flashing without the SIM and SD card installed just in case anything went wrong. Some people say it’s not necessary, but I decided to play it safe.
  • Once done, I reset the APN and phone settings, re-installed my apps, synced to Google and other services and it was all good.

And that’s about it! Now, I should probably answer two post-flash questions you might have…

Any problems?
Not really. However I do think the reported size of apps (via the manage apps settings) is incorrect. Not a biggy, as it still reports the correct usage for the SD card and internal storage.

How’s the performance?
Awesome! In fact I think the phone is snappier through menus etc now under 2.2 than it was under 2.1. It could just be the eye candy distracting me, but I think my phone actually runs better now.

.

Final words…
So, it does take a leap of faith to do this sort of thing, but I’ve been voiding warranties, flashing firmwares and building PC’s for a while now so I’m quite happy doing so.

If it ain’t broke, take it apart and fix it! 😉

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

23 Responses to Android 2.2 Froyo on my Samsung Galaxy 580 (NZ)

  1. DaveW says:

    I did same a month or so ago, my build number is FROYO.XXJPA. My main issue was to reinstall the details for Vodafone PXT and MMS services, not clever enough to record them first! Love the new interface and has a number of new features. I even think I saw something about handwriting recognition in there somewhere?

  2. Sam says:

    I think its messed up how Vodafone can’t just give us the update. I mean India of all places have it. The update is ready. Its not like Vodafone has to make the firmware from scratch. Just chuck their settings on it, and send it out. Sheesh.

  3. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for the guide to installing/updating the Samsung GT-I5800 (Galaxy 3 580) to Froyo.
    I have successfully updated to firmware XXJPQ (latest on xda-developers 27 May 2011 no bootloader)

    Icons look a lot crisper and I now will have to explore the new features.

    Once again thank you for pointing me in the right direction.

    Too bad Vodafone could not get the update throught official vectors.

    Duncan

  4. Brendan Lochner says:

    As you guys have done due to Vodafone/Samsung slackness, I upgraded mine to (Galaxy 3 580) Froyo JPM the other day, It’s working great no more lagging finally!

    Though I don’t know if anyone else get a Indicator icon of a “Sim working icon” now and then?? and in the drop down notification menu it shows but with no description when selected, not to sure if mine is having a sim problem ive just upgraded my GF “same phone too” to Froyo jpm 2 hours ago and it has the the same thing.

    your thoughts ?? I will research xda site for some info tonight too

  5. Chris says:

    Hi Brendan,
    Haven’t seen that sim icon/notification myself – I have one of the old VF sims so don’t know it that’s a factor or not. Some suggestions in the following thread (including killing a task and checking a contact storage location is set) – also comments saying it’s something that crops up with the newer sims…?
    http://forum.vodafone.co.nz/topic/6080-sim-card-notification-icon-in-android-phone/
    Good luck solving it!

  6. Hi Brendan,

    I have not had any problems with the JPQ firmware.
    I am using a 2Degrees Sim.

    Before updating I had been having a problem where the phoe would stop reading the sim so i think it came up with an icon in the top corner.
    But i have as of yet not had this with the new firmware.

    Good Luck with finding a solution.

    Duncan

  7. Hi all just wanting to know before i do this. how can i backup my stock firmware. is this documented in some of the links provided by Chris. if so i will do that first. I feel a backup is always the best to do encase. and you can save the backup folder to your computer ( preferably a flashdrive you can save on space if needed).

    I will tale a good look at all the information. i am happy to finally find this Local tutorial on it. also just for your information. here is a list of samsung galaxy 3 gt-i5800 factory codes i found on facebook. http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=148706491847965 hope that helps.

  8. Chris says:

    Hi Michael,
    I didn’t backup my ROM, but to do so you’ll have to root first. Then you’ll probably use something like Nandroid Backup – the ClockworkMod ROM Manager might help out here, but I don’t know about compatability etc with the Galaxy 850/3.
    Unless someone else can point you in the right direction…?
    Good luck, and let us know what method you end up using. Oh, and nice list of factory codes there! Thanks. 🙂

  9. its ok man we all don’t really like samsung since the 580 is obsoleted by them. yet the previous model and the proceeding ones are not. its good that there are updates and sux that samsung Nz and Vodafone Nz dont care about there customers. i would assume that as we can still by new even today the galaxy 3 gt-i5800 new that it would have support. or be way cheeper when i get it in January this year.

    i can see y vodafone still sell them as they ae more affordable than the galaxy s and s2. y did i not just buy a cheep mobile atm and wait till the s was cheaper like it is now. but i am happy with my 580 and will be more happy when i can backup/save firmware and apps etc first so i can upgrade with ease.

    samsung is usually a good company themselves. It also sux that New Zealand releases are behind the world. so i guess the phone was obsoleted at the time I got it, or near enough to. New Zealand should push for us to be up with the play and on par with the world.

    we have slack internet speeds & pay to much, (i chat to people who get unlimited broadband for cheep). Products, like our 580, are released way after the world. ………. well enough about that. at least we have a fairly good android phone that is handy in alot of ways. and is very usable even with default install. we shoudl start an official, unofficial, update for the phone.

  10. another thing i want to ask. after people have updated there phone. what roms have you tried and liked or created yourself. and what have you replaced the standard apps with, such as layer, the widgets, camera, radio, music player, file manager, video player, voice dialler etc and the handy google powered managers. or do most of them come with 2.2 even things like your preferred window manager, I installed launcher pro as a test and loved that. far better than the default tmmanager.

    Share your experiences. lets help out all the New Zealanders like us who are sick of the lack of support and want a better Phone.

    also does the google maps update but been fixed in 2.2 this bug does not allow to set screen widgets any more after installed.

  11. Chris says:

    I’ve only installed a stock sammy ROM (JPM) but put Launcher Pro on the top as my default. As for some other apps, I use LittlePhoto in place of the default camera app and ES File Explorer as my file manager. As yet I haven’t replaced the web browser – stock is working ok for me for now.

    I’m also keen to hear what others have used to replace stock apps…

  12. i have found that using both opera mini (for data conection) and opera mobile (for wifi) to be handy. the reason why i use both is that i read that as opera mini crunches websites first online at operas servers thus best for data. and opera mobile is better when on wifi.

    also considering that you install launcher pro and dont remove the stock window manager seems like it uses extra space on the limited internal storage. titanium backup has an option to remove unwanted apps. which might be useful if wanting to save space. i do liek android browser for some things as it picks up free open wifi homepages needed to login, places like McDonalds. titanium backup is great and i can remove apps i actually dont use at all.

    will provide more info after i actually perform the update myself. i have just finished downloading the necessary apps

    to clarify you should have these 5 things downloaded.
    i5800 flashing software
    i5800_odin_multi_downloader_v4.252
    i5800XXJPQ.7z (or the Firmware that works for you)
    samsung _usb.rar

    have i missed anything before i begin after a good nights sleep.

  13. i have found that using both opera mini (for data conection) and opera mobile (for wifi) to be handy. the reason why i use both is that i read that as opera mini crunches websites first online at operas servers thus best for data. and opera mobile is better when on wifi.

    also considering that you install launcher pro and dont remove the stock window manager seems like it uses extra space on the limited internal storage. titanium backup has an option to remove unwanted apps. which might be useful if wanting to save space. i do liek android browser for some things as it picks up free open wifi homepages needed to login, places like McDonalds. titanium backup is great and i can remove apps i actually dont use at all.

    will provide more info after i actually perform the update myself. i have just finished downloading the necessary apps

    to clarify you should have these 4 things downloaded.
    i5800 flashing software
    i5800_odin_multi_downloader_v4.252
    i5800XXJPQ (or the Firmware that works for you)
    samsung _usb.rar

    have i missed anything before i begin after a good nights sleep.

  14. Chris says:

    Re Opera Mini – you’ve already noted that ALL traffic passes through Opera, which includes your SSL connections. Specifically, they are acting as a proxy and decrypt your connection so they can get the unencrypted stream for their compression on the way back to you. From a security standpoint this is BAD BAD BAD! IMHO you should NEVER EVER use Opera Mini if you visit sites over SSL (https). You are effectively authorising them to perform a man-in-the-middle attack!

    Yes Titanium Backup is good for freeing up space, but under Froyo I now just move everything I can over to the SD card. Individual apps still have to allow this, but most seem to (or at least most of the big ones like games allow it). No more space problems! 🙂

    Good luck with the flashing.

  15. OK here is my next trials.

    I have tried firmware version
    I5800xxjpq and I5800xxjpf

    they seem to be basically the same.

    the one thing that i am disappointed with allot almost wishing i did not update. is that both versions did not come with the 3×4 keypad (thats the one that comes with most phones mobile and land-line. i dont like the standard keyboard or swipe. I do wonder why it is not there. I looked in the market for this but i cant find it. any ideas on this would help. thanks

    ptherwise i do like the fast snappy froyo.

  16. also no phone usb settings anymore. to select keys, media player, mas storage, or choose.

  17. Chris says:

    Not sure about the keyboard – I’m currently using SwiftKey X. Re the USB settings, they’re still there under the Wireless and network settings.

  18. Chris says:

    Follow-up re the keyboard – the 3×4 keypad is still an option under:
    Locale and text > Samsung keypad > Portrait keypad types

  19. Hey I have been having fun since i updated to android 2.2 (froyo). I have tested and tryed many things.

    (i have now removed the default TWlauncher, not used. lol greart.)

    MY current setup which i love includes.

    * launcher pro Plus(paied version).
    * also installed quick desk,
    * handsent sms
    * titanum baclup (needs root)
    * ad blocker
    * ad free (needs root)
    * business calander
    * go weather
    * easy note
    * gdocs
    * gdocs notepad
    * greader
    * Opera mini for conecting with data
    * opera mobile for wifi conection
    * phone weaver
    * Taskmanager
    * Night time is good, (now use phone weaver)
    * App2sd
    * blogger droid
    * facebook

    for testing different launchers if more than on installed get
    * home switcher
    * desktop migrate

    I will be posting in my blog about, my testings and such, with details, will link here. when done.

    thanks again Chris for you post on how to update.

  20. Alister says:

    Really good guide, update worked well

    Has anyone had any issues with not receiving inbound calls after updating. I updated to JPM and have this issue. Don’t even know where to start looking.

  21. Chris says:

    Alister – the only thing I can suggest is to double check the APN settings, see this thread on the VF forums:
    http://forum.vodafone.co.nz/topic/6060-android-apn-mobile-network-settings/page__p__53425&#entry53425
    The only other mobile network setting I think I changed was to set the network mode to GSM only – leaving it on auto seemed to cause me problems receiving PXT messages.

  22. Chris says:

    Oh, one other thing – have you tried a factory reset? That will reset it back to factory settings on the updated ROM (it won’t undo the flashing you just did). After that, check and reset the APN settings and hopefully all will be good… Good luck!

  23. Pingback: No Carrier IQ on my Samsung Galaxy 580 « Noble Notes

Leave a Reply

