Let the growing begin!

Yes folks, Movember is back! And much to the disgust of my wife and delight of my kids (and by delight I mean they’ll just laugh at me!) I’m on board once again. This will be my fifth year of mo growing and once again I’m hoping to top my previous year’s fund-raising efforts – $565 in 2009.

In case you haven’t heard of Movember, here’s some of the about blurb from nz.movember.com:

Each year, Movember, is responsible for the sprouting of moustaches on thousands of men’s faces in New Zealand and around the world, with the sole aim of raising vital funds and awareness for men’s health.

Men sporting Movember moustaches, known as Mo Bros, become walking, talking billboards for the 30 days of November and through their actions and words raise awareness by prompting private and public conversation around the often ignored issue of men’s health.

Movember is now in its fifth year in New Zealand. The money raised as a result of the Movember campaign is channelled by our men’s health partners into a number of world class and innovative education, research and awareness initiatives. Movember New Zealand collaborates with two men’s health partners – the Cancer Society and the Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand.

And here’s a couple of facts for the cause:

  • In 2010 tragically more than 3,000 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer
  • 1 in 10 people will experience depression in their lifetime

So how can you help? Glad you asked! Donations can be made via my Mo Space Page or jump straight to my donation form where you can make an online credit card payment.

Finally, for a bit of fun, in addition to some facial grooming, I’m setting myself another little challenge to post a daily pic of a famous mo. Coming up with 30 shouldn’t be a problem, so stay tuned for number one later today – I’m thinking I’ll kick off with a legendary New Zealander…

Thanks in advance for your support.

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

2 Responses to Let the growing begin!

  1. Chris says:

    After kicking things off with a donation to myself, I note the PDF donation receipt that you can download after donating has blank fields (here’s hoping they fix that soon). Note however, you do get one automatically emailed to you and that version is fine. (Donations of $5 or more are tax deductible.)

  2. Pingback: Famous Mo #1 « Noble Notes

Leave a Reply

