10,000+ Photos

I recently clocked up 10,000 photos and videos on my little Canon IXUS 400 compact digital camera – quite a milestone with a single camera now over 4 years old!

No, I didn’t count ’em all, instead the camera uses a sequential numbering system, starting 100_0001, 100_0002, 100_1003… with the hundredth photo numbered 101_0100 and the thousandth photo 110_1000. I’m now up to 202_0248 and the astute among you will have already figured that should be 10,248 presses of the shutter button.

Here’s the camera that has served me so well,

…and continues to do so! While it doesn’t sport the higher resolutions of newer models, the picture quality at 2272×1704 is absolutely superb and plenty good enough for the printing I want. The movie mode also gets a good workout, with it recording 320×240 AVI videos at 15fps with sound. Storage is onto a Compact Flash card, of which I have a couple, and it takes a proprietary Lithium-Ion rechargeable battery.

Speaking of batteries, I always recommend getting two if you’re buying a digital camera and mine have lasted very well – from June 2003 until August 2007 when I decided they weren’t holding charge as well as they should. The original batteries got me to around 9500 photos/videos, with replacements purchased via dc-battery.co.nz who I would happily purchase from again.

Given that the camera is still going strong, I don’t anticipate having to replace it anytime soon. When I finally do, I’m pretty sure I’ll be sticking with Canon given the sterling run I’ve had with this one. If anyone is interested, here’s the specs as listed at dpreview.com (Digital Photography Review – a most excellent website by the way).

Finally, a topical plug for my photo gallery at noble.gen.nz and shared videos at YouTube. There you’ll find most of the pics and vids I want to share, but in the future I expect to make more use of Picasa for photos.

Thank you Canon. My camera rocks!

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

2 Responses to 10,000+ Photos

  1. scottatron says:

    Hi Chris

    Just searching around to get an idea on the reliability of dc-battery.co.nz and came across this post.

    I’m guessing from your comments that you had no troubles with them?

    Can I ask how quick the delivery was?

    Scott

  2. Chris says:

    Hi Scott,

    I had no problems at all. I paid by Visa and had the replacement batteries direct from Hong Kong (I think – definitely an international parcel) within about 3-4 days of ordering. Not sure exactly the number of days, but it was less than a week.

    Cheers, Chris.

Leave a Reply

