Melbourne!

Well the weather is crap, but if I had to choose an Australian city to visit this is it. Kudos to Qantas for winging me here safely and on time, and what’s more the late lunch was ok and topped off by a magnum for dessert 🙂

Quest ApartmentThe serviced apartment in Docklands that I’m staying in is very well presented, albiet small, and just 5min walk to where I’m based for the course. The flatscreen TV and DVD player is a bonus (pity I didn’t bring any DVD’s with me!)

My only gripe is the cost of the in-house internet. The provider is Azure Wireless (despite being a wired option in the apartment) and for some insane pricing options check out their billing options page! Yes you read right,

  • 1 hour (unlimited) = $13.20
  • 2 hours (unlimited) = $25.00 …
  • 1 day (200Mb) = $20.00
  • 3 days (400Mb) = $40.00 …

The hour plans are billed by the minute and let you use your time over the course of a year, but man that’s pricey! The speed pretty much sucks too… for that price I’d expect a super fast connection, but I’m currently surfing at 1280/200kbps (well short of the fastest plans in NZ). I’m thinking about taking the laptop for a walk and finding an open wireless network to piggy back off…

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

