Gallery issues

Well, it seems my upgrade to the newer Gallery 2 software might come back to haunt me. Yesterday the galleries were broken with the following ugly error,

Error
Error (ERROR_PLATFORM_FAILURE) :
* in modules/corea/classes/GalleryTemplate.class
at line 270 (gallerycoreapi::error)
* in modules/core/classes/GalleryTemplate.class
at line 200 (gallerytemplate::_initcompiledtemplatedir)
* in main.php at line 418 (gallerytemplate::fetch)
* in main.php at line 87
* in main.php at line 80

Bummer.

After hitting google and the Gallery forums, it appeared to be a file permission thing, so I reset all permissions in the g2data folder to 777. While embarking on that little mission I also noticed I was over my quota with my webhost. This turned out to be the ultimate problem and appears to be due to a ballooning gallery cache – something I have little control over.

While Gallery 2 is good, easy to install and migrate from Gallery 1, with a nice shiney admin interface, I think I’ll be rolling back to the older slimmer version… which probably means days of work re-doing captions on over 800 photos which will be lost when the backend database is deleted. Bugger.

In the meantime, the gallery may or may not work. If it dies, I apologise, but rest assured the photos will return… one day…

UPDATE: (May 3)
Well, I’ve rolled back the gallery install to version 1 and re-loaded all the photos. In doing so I’ve saved 35MB! Same number of photos and thumbs too! As a result, for a small site I would NEVER recommend Gallery v2 – it’s simply too bloated and the extra functionality does not, IMHO, justify the increased install/running size.

I still have to reorder the images and fix the captions, but at least it should stay running now…

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

