Lyall Bay miniature

Lyall Bay miniatureCheck out this incredibly detailed Lyall Bay miniature.

The photo is focused on the Surf Club, the scene complete with cars and people on the beach.

Awesome!

OK. Time to level with ya. It’s not a model. Instead, I’ve modified a photo I took of Kilbirnie to make it look like a miniature model of the bay and buildings. Cool huh!

KilbirnieHere’s the original photo (source was 1600×1200) taken from View Road. As you’ll note I’ve cropped out a small part of the pic for modification.

The method is not my own, and a writeup with worked example can be found at Receding Hairline. As you’ll see it’s a photoshop technique, which I reckon is super cool so just had to test it out.

Ah, the fun you can have with digital photos. Sadly(?) it’s very rare to find a photo these days that isn’t modified. But that’s the beauty of digital photography – post processing can turn a poor or ordinary photo into something decent or amazing. I’m glad I grew up with a fully manual SLR camera to really learn what photography is about, but now with digital I’ll never look back.

This was an interesting first test, but I’m not done yet. There’s still lots of fun to be had with this technique, and I hope to share more later…

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

