Internet Explorer sucks

Yup. It’s official. I don’t like it, but IE7 is looking better…

Firstly IE sucks for several reasons. My biggest gripe is the lack of CSS or style specification adherance, meaning different visual behaviours across browers for some sites (including this one). IE also doesn’t fully support PNG images, which is just plain stupid. And it has security issues (ok, so do others) but because it’s so highly integrated into the Windows operating system, it often leaves the OS also vulnerable to attack.

My solution – get Firefox. Seriously. Just because IE comes bundled with Windows doesn’t mean it’s the standard browser (far from it in fact!) Firefox is better for so many reasons. To name a few, it’s open source, is a small download, has tabbed browsing, built in RSS feed support, is more extendable via plugins, has better bookmark management and is generally regarded as being faster and safer.

I use it and will never look back. Ironically I suppose, to actually switch to Firefox you’ll probably use IE to download it!

To prove I don’t hate Microsoft, I decided to test IE7 beta 2, and there are some promising improvements. IE is definately playing catch-up with Firefox, and the new version now has tabbed browsing and RSS support built-in.

IE7 tab preview One thing I do like is the “quick tabs” button that shows you all your open tabs at once.
(click for a larger preview)

Other thumbs up are that the RSS support is well done, page zooming works well and it also looks like it will finally support PNG images properly.

On the downside, it still doesn’t do CSS correctly which is a serious annoyance. Perhaps this will be further improved once it’s officially released, but who knows. I still recommend Firefox.

Get Firefox!

About Chris
A self confessed geek, meteorologist (aka weather forecaster), father & proud kiwi mainlander living, working & playing in Wellington, New Zealand.

8 Responses to Internet Explorer sucks

  1. Chris says:

    And I’ll add another entry to the suck list – no download manager. FF has a basic one (I’d like to see better) but at least its something.

    The downside of testing IE7 has been the enabling of clear-type fonts (which I dislike) and due to a known bug, I can’t disable them fully -GRRR.

  2. Russ says:

    Gee dude finally! Next we’ll be convincing you to install Linux 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    Lets not get carried away Tux-fanboy 😀

  4. Daniel says:

    Internet Explorer sucks ass, I used to use it daily, until I found Fire-Fox. I got 3 viruses with IE and every time I use IE i get millions of pop-ups, but with Fire-Fox, i onlu get 1 pop-up a day, I have tabbed browsing, extensions, and it is 15% not safe (un like IE 98% ha!)

  5. -_- says:

    The best way to use internet with internet explorer is to select your address bar type in http://www.firefox.com and press your enter key.
    When the website opens click on the download link and save the file.

    Then run the executable file and install the program.

    Then close internet explorer and never use it again.

  6. Chris says:

    Couldn’t agree more! Ironically, and despite what the EU says about bundling and anti-competitive bollocks, we need IE bundled with Windows for this very purpose… 😉

  7. Arturo says:

    I got tired of struggling with IE7. I was getting constant computer freezes, it’s slow. I tried to install IE8 beta but all I got was errors and Microsoft support sucks. I spent hours and hours on it’s forums with no help at all.
    After all the above I decided to start using the latest Firefox (3.0.6) on a regular basis, and let me tell you “I saw the light”.
    No more freezes or crashes, much faster.

    Arturo

  8. Richard says:

    Just figured I’d share this cool site. http://robertjames.50webs.com/romse.html

    For the handfull of us Windows 9.X users tierd of real old MSIE esploits

Leave a Reply

